Skip to content

Can you just wait, please?

4. January 2011

Can you just wait, please?

No, I can’t. No, I hate waiting. Waiting is for others, not for me!

At least that’s what I kept thinking until this morning. I would usually stop for a red light thinking “…xdasgyyy… Why is this light so slow?” I would send an email to a friend and think “where is my reply?” if it didn’t reach me within 6 h. Or even worse, I’d get totally upset while I would have to wait for my home made bread dough to raise and bake and couldn’t leave the house or be otherwise productive in the meantime because, because, because, I had to wait ! What a torture! What a trap!

And what a self inflicted one too…!

Who said there must be no downtime in my driving path?
Who said emails have to be answered within 6 h?
And who ever said, that baking bread is a quick job?
As I came to find out this morning, I can learn to wait. Some of you have occasionally heard me musing about waiting over the last few months. I have indeed marinated my grey cells in this matter for quite some time, as it’s been bothering me more and more.
The problem wasn’t something I could command to myself directly, as my mind likes to protest against every order as a principle (God only knows why!) So here is what I came up with in the hopes that it’ll work because it’s fun: I want to see how good I can get at waiting.
I will challenge myself each time I notice my impatience, and calm my racing mind with this new mantra, which really is a very old appropriated quote by Seneca “give me the strength to change what can be changed, the patience to endure what can’t be changed, and the wisdom to recognize the difference between the two”.

The measure of my progress should be noticeable by the level and amount of fun I can create during the moments of forced waiting.

I give myself about two weeks for this learning experiment. If you are curious about the outcome, please wait ;-)

Mit den herzlichsten Gruessen von unterwegs,
Rita Booker Solymosi

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11. April 2011 17:35

    Hi Rita,

    Nice article. I wish you good luck in your experiment,…but I am pretty much sure you will just love it.
    In the end we are confronted to something so obvious: rushing through makes us neglect some essentials, those who give true value to people and things.

    Cheers,
    Olivier

  2. 16. August 2011 00:14

    Ah, finally have some new insight to share:

    What does patience feel like? It’s a subtle unfolding with time as your ally. You feel relaxed and trust that it will all work out, even if in this very moment, there’s no clear path to the end. It feels like the subtle uneasiness of allowing all you’re uncomfortable with to be exactly as it is.
    – Jackson Kiddard, author & polymath #TDL

Leave a Reply

